close

WRITING LIFE

Dec 19, 2014

Manda’s Writing Career

Manda grew up near Glasgow where she studied veterinary surgery before going on to teach at the universities of Cambridge and Dublin.

She began her career as a writer with a series of crime novels set in Scotland, the first of which was shortlisted for the Orange Prize. The dark, edgy thriller which followed, No Good Deed, was nominated for an Edgar Award and hailed as one of the most remarkable thrillers of the year in 2001.

In addition to the bestselling Boudica series, which was translated into over twenty languages, Manda is the author of an acclaimed series of Roman novels featuring the emperor’s spy Sebastos Pantera.

Having spent the last two decades bringing historical figures back to life, reimagined and rebooted for the twenty-first century, in the tradition of Kate Mosse and Rosemary Sutcliff, her next book returns in part to her thriller roots. Into the Fire – coming June 2015 – thrillingly links arson attacks in modern-day France with the story of Joan of Arc during the Hundred Years War.

you may also be interested in

Comments

Write a Comment

Your email address won’t be published (it’s just to prove you’re a real person)
Your comment will show up as soon as Manda approves it.